Skip to content ↓


Bexley Grammar School is a single academy trust; it is not part of a federation. Its Governors are Members and/or Trustees.

The Trust has 5 Members (of which 2 are Trustees and 3 are non-Trustees) and a maximum of 14 Trustees comprised as follows: up to 9 appointed by the members; 2 Parent Trustees elected by parents of students registered at the school in a secret ballot; 2 Staff Trustees elected by staff in the school; and the Headteacher. Trustees may also appoint up to four co-opted Trustees.

Apart from several other specific purposes the Governors mainly support the school as members of four Committees which deal with policies, developments and assessment of the different areas of the Academy’s functioning.

These Committees are:

  1. Curriculum and Pupil Progress Committee
  2. Staffing and Pupil Welfare Committee
  3. Finance and Resources Committee
  4. Audit and Risk Committee

The Governors have powers delegated to them from the full Governing Body to make decisions on behalf of the school within the remit of the committee’s sphere of concern. The committees meet each term and their work is reported to the full Governing Body in a meeting towards the end of each term. All policies and budget decisions are decided upon by agreement of the Governing Body.

The day to day management of the school is the responsibility of the Headteacher and his Senior Management Team. The Headteacher acts as the Accounting Officer, is a member of the Finance and Resources Committee and attends the Audit and Risk Committee; each of the two Deputies is attached to the other two Governors’ Committees. The Deputies also run Learning Teams (teams of staff with relevant responsibilities) within the school which are linked by area of concern to the relevant Governors’ Committees and so the work of the school and that of the Governors is clearly linked through areas of interest, self-evaluation and reporting.

The Governing Body


Name Appointed as
Donna Briant Member
Richard Gillespie Member 
Vacancy Member and Trustee 
John Welsh Member
Tony Woodcock Member and Chair of Trustees*

Appointed trustees 

Name Terms of Office 
Sebastien Abbate 10.10.2022 - 09.10.2026
Baljit Sangha 04.03.2021 - 03.03.2025
Alison Saridogan 04.03.2021 - 03.03.2025
Eileen Stagg 13.03.2023 - 12.03.2027
Ian Tonks 08.10.2022 - 07.10.2026
David Tyler 27.06.2022 - 26.06.2026
Tony Woodcock 04.03.2021 - 03.03.2025
Michael Woodhall 04.03.2021 - 03.03.2025

parent trustees 

Name Terms of Office 
Paul Savage 05.12.2022 - 04.12.2026
Faye Tyler 13.12.2020 - 12.12.2024

STAFF trustees 

Name Terms of Office 
Stephanie Brand 21.10.2022 - 20.10.2026
Matthew Lines 21.10.2022 - 20.10.2026


Name Commencement Date  
Hugh Gilmore 17.04.2023

*If you wish to contact the Chair of Trustees, please address correspondence c/o Governing Professional, Ms C Tuplin, Bexley Grammar School, Danson Lane, Welling, Kent DA16 2BL or email via